I'm a Newbie

Hi All,

I bought a 1991 GTO TT a few weeks ago and then discovered your excellent forum.

I found my car on here, it is the blue one with the smoking issue when coming off boost :frowning:

I bought it with the fault and it has driven perfectly all the way home (about 100 or so miles) and have now got it on the driveway ready for some work.

Plans -

Find out the cause of the smoke… I’m going to do a compression test and see what is shown, strip the turbo’s off and swap them for a rebuilt set of 13g’s and take a look at replacing the Valve stem seals.

Here’s to hoping it’s not rings, but if it is, no big deal, have a garage and have rebuilt a few engines so good excuse for a fully forged built and see what power these can kick out.

I will post some pics when the weather gets better, the bodywork is nice for the year and the previous owner has put a mk2 interior in there which looks quite smart

If anyone know’s the history on B7 DCA please do get in touch or let me know what has been done so far, would save me quite a bit of time :smile:

I feel a few rebuild article’s coming on :smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to the club. First rule of GTO club is you don’t talk about GTO club. Second rule of GTO club is PICTURES!!! Sorry its been a long day! @GSXRKID is most likely to know the history of the car. He seems to know the history of every GTO/3000GT in the country. He is the one that will be taking all your money now you own a GTO.

2 Likes

Lots of pictures to come :smile:

Happy to hear it’s history, from what i have found on here it’s had three engines so far this year!

Hi fella welcome to GTOUK :sunglasses: you have come to the right place for info and help

Craig :smile:

Welcome matey, there is a write up somewhere on this forum regarding that car, for the life of me I don’t know where. Perhaps @DeanMarkTaylor can find it!!!

Get some pictures up and start a log in the technical section :+1:

Terry :sunglasses:

Welcome Andrew !