New GTO TT owner, newbie needing advice

Hey all… New owner of a '93 GTO TT (import), 6-speed manual.

I’m in Belfast.

A little background first. I bought the car as a project last summer. It came as a 1000-piece jigsaw puzzle. Complete car (almost) with everything from inside the engine bay in tins and boxes. Still, I knew I could piece it all together. Bearing in mind I have limited experience in working with engines of this nature. I have owned and worked on Subaru Imprezas many years ago.
The previous owner bought the car with a blown Mk2 engine (4-bolt) maybe 5 years ago with the intention of putting another engine in, but never got any further than buying an engine from England and shipping the blown engine over to the supplier. I got the whole lot for £600 so I thought it would be worth the gamble of buying blind.
Turns out he bought a 2-bolt engine and sent off the 4-bolt. The car sat in his garage for roughly 4 years before I bought it.

With a little help and knowledge and parts from Rob @ Evil Empire I eventually rounded up the parts I needed to get the engine installed. A few teething problems rectified and the car fired up and engine was running smooth, albeit very short-lived.
Within a few days of starting and letting it idle in between fitting a new master cylinder and slave to get the clutch working a nasty knock came into it. Nightmare scenario.
Engine out, gearbox sent off to be checked, came back all good, transfer box good, must be the engine. Removed the sump pan and there are plenty of filings in the sump. Crankshaft has markings where it’s hitting off something somewhere.

So, I’ve looked around and asked around and I don’t know which road to take. Do I look for a 4-bolt engine or can the internals be replaced with the forged crankshaft etc? Which would be the cheaper option? and/or is it even possible to upgrade from the mk1 cast crank with a mk2 forged one, do the pistons , conrods etc all need replaced also?