Tuning, non turbo vs twin turbo

Tuning, is it easier and more practicable to tune a mk1 twin turbo version than a non turbo mk1 version? I would like to tune up to ~ 450 bhp. Would this cost more in a non turbo version or would it cost roughly the same? Could an auto gearbox handle that kind of power anyway or would that need to be replaced also?

Hi,

I’m no expert in this area but one thing is that I doubt the automatic gearbox could take the power especially if you add turbos onto a n/a. To be honest I would think it is more practical and probably cheaper to tune up a twin turbo

James

1 Like

I am also no expert. There are a few posts on tuned n/a. Just do a search. But I would agree probably easier and cheaper in the long run to get a twin turbo

There are autos running big power , however and I use this term loosely , cheapest option would be TT to reach your goal .

Now the reason I said loosely is there is no cheap reliable way to tune your car , yes a boost controller wound up and your fuel system maxed out will give you good figures , it won’t give you good figures for long .

You need a good base to start with then quality items , clutches fuel pumps injectors , turbos etc to name a few to give you some assurance of reliability .

You will also need some form of control whether that be a piggy back ecu or full standalone .

That is a brief overview and some good food for thought for you

Craig :grinning:

Thanks for your insight. My rationale for considering to tune a non turbo was that it could be cheaper considering that I would need a host of new parts for it anyway? Like new turbos and a new clutch etc. Is there a manual version of the non turbo to your knowledge? My dream car would have the sunroof, leather seats and cruise control, does a non turbo version even exist in this configuration anyway? I stumbled on this car the other day, the owner says it’s still unsold, what are your thoughts?