Car backfires/misfires and keeps cutting out-93 gto

Hi I’m new to this-first time Gto owner help!!
Ok I bought this Gto a couple of months ago-nightmare after the second day, thought it was exhaust so changed for straight through one,sounds good didn’t help, changed idle control valve-nothing!
Had compression test-40%leak in chamber 4.
Bit the built and got re-manufactured engine and did complete engine swap with new engine gasket set,stage 2 clutch and flywheel, new radiater, oil pressure switch and changed oil,fuel and air filter. All oils changed. The car ran fine on start up but now backfires, loses power and cuts out
What can it be???

Hi Neil and welcome to the club.

I’m no Guru on these cars but another avenue you could look at is the main ECU. There are a few people on here who have had similar experiences with the capacitors leaking and making a right mess. It could be this but i’m sure someone with a hell of a lot more experience with these cars might chime in. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful, definitely worth a butchers though.

Regards

Andy

Hi Andy

Thanks for the welcome, I have heard a few people say this and that’s my next port of call but I hoping it’s something silly I’m missing as the money on this is just running away lol
I’m thinking air/fuel mix wrong, maybe O2 sensor as I removed it off exhaust when new one fitted??
Fuel injectors, the list goes on but thank you for your thoughts I’m on the case

On a different aspect, have you checked you intercooler / Vacuum hoses? I remember when I did my Cam Belt I forgot to put the rear turbo hose back on and I experienced the exact same thing. Sorry I should’ve mentioned earlier but only just remembered what an idiot I was for forgetting to put it back.

Welcome to the club dude. Off top of my head… Not a clue could be a multitude of things

Hi,