Looking for advice on this GTO

Hi everyone,

I have recently found this GTO, but I am not sure whether I should buy it or not as I have little knowledge about the GTO. This car is a 1993 MK1 Non-turbo import with roughly 110k miles, and has only done about 15k miles since 2006. It looks to me that it’s in great condition, both exterior and interior, but I am not sure about the engine bay. I have attached an image of the engine bay that the owner sent me. Does this car just need a clean and repaint or are some vital pieces rusted? Thanks.

1 Like

Hi Jeff and welcome to GTOUK , first You have to read this https://www.gto.club/resources/buyers-guide/ , from what we can see it needs a good clean up can’t tell if there is any serious issues part from having the wrong battery and this is a fire hazard as the structure of the bonnet in that corner brings it too close to the terminals .
The right battery should have the terminals close to the intake pipe , does it run ?

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. The car does run. The owner has sent a video of him starting the car and recorded the engine bay while the car was running, but I am not able to post videos right now otherwise I would attach that video. I can instead attach another image of the engine bay that was taken from a slightly different angle, but I am not sure if that will help.

Hi and welcome to GTOUK

Looks pretty normal under there tbh , good signs for me looking at it is there is no staining on or around either of the coolant filler or expansion bottle . As @spiros has already mentioned battery should be swapped

There’s nothing that a few hours spent under the bonnet wouldn’t put right , literally a couple of hours cleaning would get that up nice , more hours invested and you could make it very pretty