Manchester newbie. Ideas for my GTO tt

Hi there team…

I’m new to the gto/ car modding scene and have just bought myself a gto as a project. Have just bought a 1992 twin turbo with 54000km which requires minor work such as slave cylinder and fuel tank. Pics to come…

Just wondering what tasteful mods I could do to the car with a budget of 4-5k bearing in mind I’ve bought this to sell on once completed. My thoughts are the following …

Respray back to original red colour, car is currently blue which i like but engine bay is red
Reupholster the seats in padded leather with got emblem
Add a dash of red to the current leather ripspeed steering wheel
DVD / dab radio
New exhaust system
Charcoal grey alloy wheels
Dump valve

As you are all gto heads here just wondering whether this would be the right direction to go in, or is original best policy

2 Likes

A few before shots…!

IMG-20181206-WA0012|666x500

5 Likes

Depends on how much you’ve paid for it and profit you expect, 5k mod budget plus original cost will not leave you much profit also adding mods will restrict the amount of people interested in buying it.

Fix the problems and restore as close to original as possible would probably be best

3 Likes

Thanks that makes sense… I have seen a seller on ebay has sold a couple of these for 10-12k with similar mods. Just wondering if I had a years enjoyment while I wait for a sale whether that would be worthwhile.

Going to sign up as a full member here anyhow and see some examples etc.

2 Likes

The person you are on about is a guy named Ibrahim, he sells junk at the highest price, have heard some real disaster stories from people who have dealt with this guy. As @robbiewarriner says, to do most of these mods would not leave you much room for profit. You’ll find that the guys and gals on here are not ‘out to make a quick buck’ but are really passionate about their cars.